CSTA PRESTIGE Awards recipients honoured for excellence in the sport tourism industry

CSTA PRESTIGE Awards recipients honoured for excellence in the sport tourism industry

TORONTO, April 22, 2010 - The Canadian Sport Tourism Alliance (CSTA) announced the recipients of the 2010 PRESTIGE Awards today at the 4th Annual PRESTIGE Awards Gala Luncheon, which pays tribute to individuals and groups from across Canada for their contributions to the sport tourism industry.

“We are thrilled to honour those who have truly made a significant impact on the Canadian sport tourism industry,” said CSTA President Janet Gates, who presented the awards along with PRESTIGE sponsors on Thursday. “These awards celebrate the people, places and events that make Canada's dynamic sport tourism industry so integral to the economic fabric of our communities.”

More than 300 individuals from Canada’s sport and tourism communities attended the luncheon, which was held in conjunction with the CSTA’s 2010 Sport Events Congress.

A complete list of the 2010 recipients is noted below. More information about the recipients, including photos, can be found online at: www.canadiansporttourism.com.

2010 PRESTIGE Awards Recipients

CSTA Sport Event of the Year Award (budget under $250,000), presented by Edmonton Events International
• 2009 CIS/CCA University Curling Championships (Montreal, QC)

CSTA Sport Event of the Year Award (budget over $250,000), presented by Destination Winnipeg
• 2009 World Police & Fire Games (Burnaby, BC)

CSTA Industry Builder of the Year
• Roger Smolnicky, Director of Business Services,  City of Leduc Recreation (Leduc, AB)

CSTA Community Service Award, presented by Intercontinental Hotels Group
• Joe Bloski (Saskatoon, SK)

CSTA Sport Event Sponsor of the Year Award
• Bell Canada - 2009 Bell Capital Cup (Ottawa, ON)

CSTA President’s Award Recipients

The CSTA President’s Award aims to recognize an individual, company or organization that has made a significant contribution to the overall success of community, national or international sport event(s) hosted in Canada.

The CSTA presented two distinguished President’s Awards to the following individuals:

CSTA President’s Award
• George Young (Huntsville, ON)
• Dr. Robert D. Steadward O.C., LLD (Edmonton, AB)

About CSTA

The Canadian Sport Tourism Alliance (CSTA) is a tourism industry led organization that promotes sport tourism as an economic development initiative at the community level. 

The CSTA services more than 200 members across Canada, including 120 municipalities, 55 national sport, multi-sport and major games organizations, as well as a variety of other national and provincial sport and tourism industry partners.

For more information please contact:

Greg Edgelow
Chair, PRESTIGE Awards
Tel: (778) 228-9187

Rick Traer
Chief Executive Officer, CSTA
Tel: (613) 688-5843