Finalists Named for 12th Annual CSTA PRESTIGE Awards


January 17, 2017


The finalists have been named for the 2018 Canadian Sport Tourism Alliance (CSTA) PRESTIGE Awards, which recognize sport tourism events, organizations, volunteers and leaders in seven different categories.

The PRESTIGE (Program Recognizing Exceptional Sport Tourism Initiatives, Games & Events) Awards are now into their 12th year, and has honoured many exceptional events, people and organizations throughout that time since they began in 2007.

“Once again this year our nominations represent the strong and vibrant sport tourism industry in Canada,” said Rick Traer, CEO, Canadian Sport Tourism Alliance. “We have consistently ranked as one of the top nations in the world for hosting events, and the calibre of this year’s nominees reflects the capability and expertise we have right across this country. Thank you to everyone who took the time to submit nominations, and congratulations to each of our finalists.”

The 20 finalists and one recipient are drawn from ten different provinces and represent both smaller communities and major urban centres. As well, five emerging leaders will be recognized for their contributions to the sport tourism industry who have demonstrated leadership, creativity and dynamic energy.

Recipients will be announced on Thursday, March 8, 2018 during the 12thPRESTIGE Awards gala luncheon sponsored by Saskatoon Sports Tourism. It takes place at the CSTA’s annual Sport Events Congress at the Halifax Convention Centre in Halifax, Nova Scotia, emceed by CBC’s broadcast journalist Colleen Jones,


2018 PRESTIGE AWARDS FINALISTS (in alphabetical order)


CSTA Canadian Sport Event of the Year Award (Group A: event budget greater than $1 million) presented by Ottawa Tourism

  • 2017 Canada Summer Games, (Winnipeg, Man.)
  • 2017 Tim Hortons Brier, (St. John’s, Nfld.)
  • Invictus Games Toronto 2017, (Toronto, Ont.)


CSTA Canadian Sport Event of the Year Award (Group B: event budget less than $1 million) presented by Ottawa Tourism

  • 2017 Ontario ParaSport Winter Games, (Brantford/County of Brant, Ont.)
  • 2017 World Junior A Challenge, (Truro, N.S.)
  • BMO NBA Courts Across Canada, (Haida Gwaii, B.C; Saskatoon, Sask.;  Brandon, Man.; Kitchener, Ont.; Québec City, Que., Dartmouth, N.S.; Moncton, N.B.)


CSTA International Sport Event of the Year Award presented by Edmonton Events

  • 2017 Ford World Men’s Curling Championships, (Edmonton, Alta.)
  • ATB Tour of Alberta 2017, (Edmonton, Alta.)
  • FISE World Edmonton 2017, (Edmonton, Alta.)


CSTA Sport Event Volunteer of the Year Award presented by Québec Destination affaires

  • Sachin Kotecha, Events Director, Quidditch Canada, (Waterloo, Ont.)
  • Robbie Larter, Rogers Hometown Hockey Tour; 2017 World Sledge Hockey Challenge, (Charlottetown, P.E.I.)
  • Paul Van Nostrand, 2017 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, (Fort St. John, B.C.)


CSTA Sport Tourism Champion Award presented by ConnectOnCampus

  • Darrell Cox, Manager, Major Events, Ottawa Tourism, (Ottawa, Ont.)
  • Jean-Marc Fournier, Minister responsible for Canadian Relations and the Canadian Francophonie; Government House Leader, (Québec City, Que.)
  • Lyn Hall, Mayor of Prince George, (Prince George, B.C.)


CSTA Sport Tourism Organization of the Year Award presented by WestJet

  • Edmonton Events, (Edmonton, Alta.)
  • Events Regina, (Regina, Sask.)
  • Ottawa Tourism, (Ottawa, Ont.)


CSTA Sustainable Sport Event of the Year Award presented by CBC Sports

  • La Coupe Rogers présentée par Banque Nationale, (Montreal, Que.)
  • Scotiabank Blue Nose Marathon, (Halifax, N.S.)



CSTA Canadian Sport Event Sponsor of the Year Award presented by Adup Display

  • Freson Bros., 2017 Freson Bros. Canadian Ringette Championships, (Leduc, Alta.)


CSTA Sport Tourism Rising Stars

  • Heather Bury, Saskatoon Sports Tourism,( Saskatoon, Sask.)
  • Jo-Annie Charbonneau, Triathlon Montréal, (Montréal, Que.)
  • Matt Moore, Rath Eastlink Community Centre, (Truro, N.S.)
  • Brandon Pickard, Durham Tourism, (Whitby, Ont.)
  • Mike Warkentin, Northlands, (Edmonton, Alta.)



Tickets to the PRESTIGE Awards luncheon are included with Sport Events Congress registered delegates’ fees. Tickets for the awards luncheon are available for individual purchase at a cost of $90 + tax per person. For more information about the PRESTIGE luncheon or to register/purchase tickets, click here.